O. Henry Memorial Award Prize Stories of 1921

Read by LibriVox Volunteers

(4.9 stars; 4 reviews)

In 1918 the Society of Arts and Sciences established the O. Henry Memorial Awards to reward the very best short stories published during the previous year with cash prizes. 1921 was a particularly productive year with sterling and brilliantly varied examples of the art of short story writing as are included here. The selection committee struggled to agree on these, but finally, here they are for us to enjoy and record. The length varies but most are sufficiently long for a reader to get their teeth into and enjoy. The stories are listed in a rough order of how they were judged, but all are excellent. Note that one story, 'Martin Gerrity Gets Even' actually had two authors, Courtney Ryley Cooper, and Leo F. Creagan but only one is able to be credited - Summary by Phil Chenevert (12 hr 53 min)


The Heart of Little Shikara 1:07:26 Read by Mike Pelton
The Man who Cursed the Lilies 42:27 Read by Jacquerie
The Urge 57:28 Read by Jacquerie
Mummery 38:38 Read by David Hinson
The Victim of His Vision 1:09:13 Read by meridiculous
Martin Gerrity Gets Even 34:40 Read by Fred Sandal
Stranger Things 1:27:39 Read by Jothi Tharavant
Comet 39:27 Read by Jothi Tharavant
Fifty-two Weeks for Florette 57:46 Read by Wendy Almeida
Wild Earth, part 1 38:37 Read by Mike Pelton
Wild Earth, part 2 45:31 Read by Mike Pelton
The Tribute 12:54 Read by Garth Burton
The Get-away 17:41 Read by Graham McMillan
'Aurore' 36:21 Read by Michele Fry
Mr. Downey Sits Down 36:28 Read by Jacquerie
The Marriage in Kairwan 43:07 Read by Graham McMillan
Grit 48:17 Read by Mike Pelton