Skip to main content.

The Light Invisible

Gelesen von David Wales

(4,594 Sterne; 16 Bewertungen)

Fifteen short ghost stories by the Anglican then Roman Catholic priest, Robert Hugh Benson (1871-1914). The form of the book is of an old English Roman Catholic priest telling stories to his young friend. Benson wrote prolifically in many genres. His horror and ghost fiction are collected in The Light Invisible (1903) and A Mirror of Shalott (1907) - David Wales (3 hr 39 min)




Read by David Wales

The Green Robe; The Watcher


Read by David Wales

The Blood-Eagle; Over The Gateway


Read by David Wales

Poena Damni; Consolatrix Afflictorum


Read by David Wales

The Bridge Over The Stream; In The Convent Chapel


Read by David Wales

Under Which King?; With Dyed Garments


Read by David Wales

Unto Babes; The Traveller


Read by David Wales

The Sorrows Of The World; In The Morning; The Expected Guest


Read by David Wales


Quick Horror Read, Clear Narration

(4 Sterne)

The book is a series of supernatural short stories that blur the lines between the physical world and the spiritual world. The author was a late 19th century Anglican pastor turned Catholic priest, so his religious teachings turn up heavily in the subjects of his writing. His style reminds me of Edgar Allan Poe, only less “creepy” horror and more “wow that was weird” horror. The narrator speaks very deliberately with force, so it was easy to follow along.

a different type of supernatural

(4,5 Sterne)

I liked this collection of tales, interesting and thoughtful. It is also well read. Thank you for the enjoyable reading!